History » Year by year

2010 - Rekord-Sieg in Le Mans

2010 - Record breaking victory at Le Mans

Audi Sport Team Joest crowned the 2010 season with a one-two-three finish at the 24 Hours of Le Mans with the revised Audi R15 TDI. It was Joest’s eleventh victory at the Sarthe and the seventh together with Audi. In the process all three Audi’s exceeded the previous record average race speed of 222.304 km/h established in 1971. Winners Romain Dumas, Timo Bernhard and Mike Rockenfeller achieved 225.228 km/h. They also set a new distance record of 5,410.713 kilometres. Another highlight during the year was Audi Sport Team Joest’s first event in China. The sportscar race in Shanghai represented the finale of the inaugural Intercontinental Le Mans Cup. The Audi team was narrowly beaten by its arch rival Peugeot in both the race and championship.

Le Mans 2010 Le Mans 2010 Audi R15 TDI