History » Year by year

2014 – Sieg im Dreikampf der Marken

2014 – Victory in the three-way manufacturers’ battle

Audi Sport Team Joest celebrates the hybrid hat-trick at Le Mans. Up to this time, no other manufacturer has won the iconic 24-hour race with a combination of an internal combustion engine and an electric motor. Marcel Fässler/André Lotterer/Benoît Tréluyer win an exceptionally thrilling edition of the endurance race in front of their teammates Lucas di Grassi/Marc Gené/Tom Kristensen. A fierce battle ensues between Audi, Toyota and Porsche. Both driver squads from Audi Sport Team Joest lead the competition in the Audi R18 e-tron quattro some of the time, but both have to accept some setbacks. In the end, Fässler/Lotterer/Tréluyer achieve their third victory in four years. Following another success in the Austin 6 Hours, this driver trio in the end takes second place in the FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC). At the end of the year another era for Joest Racing ended: Tom Kristensen retired after many successful years with the team.

audi_motorsport-141130-8274.jpg audi_motorsport_140615-4332.jpg audi_motorsport-141119-8147.jpg