Cars » Museum

Audi R18 ultra

Audi R18 ultra

Audi takes a two-pronged approach this year in the 24 Hours of Le Mans and the newly created FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) – the 2012 Audi R18 is available with and without hybrid drive. The trick: the base of both cars is completely identical, which is why the additional logistical effort is kept to a minimum for Audi Sport and the race team.

When Audi Sport designed the R18 TDI for Le Mans 2011, the technicians already had the future electrification in the back of their minds. It was not foreseeable that the new, smaller power plants would be subject to further limitations by the regulations after their first season. From the very inception of project ‘R18’ Audi Sport focused on a compact 3.7 liter V6 TDI with innovative architecture and equipped with a mono-turbocharger. This specifically now pays dividends: the engine is very compact and plays its role in compensating for the hybrid system’s additional weight. In spite of the latest restrictions imposed by the Automobile Club de l’Ouest (ACO) Audi Sport still extracts over 375 kW (510 hp) and a maximum torque exceeding 850 Nm from the power unit thanks to the efficiency of the overall concept.

At first sight the R18 ultra does not look much different to last year’s Le Mans winning R18 TDI. However, under the guidance of Technical Director Dr. Martin Mühlmeier the Audi Sport engineers have done a great job and left hardly a single area of the car untouched. The result is a largely new LMP1 prototype – including a modified carbon-fiber monocoque, which continues to excel through its one-piece construction.

“To compensate for the weight, the subject of lightweight design and construction was the focus throughout the entire car,” says Christopher Reinke, Technical Project Leader LMP at Audi Sport. “We have systematically and logically pursued ultra lightweight design and construction without compromising the aspects of safety and reliability. The same applies to the monocoque just as it does for the engine, gearbox and other components.”

Almost every component in the V6 TDI engine was completely reworked and adapted to suit the new regulations, which targeted a reduction in engine power of around seven per cent, which was achieved in the form of a smaller engine air intake restrictor (45.8 instead of 47.4 mm diameter) and a reduction in the maximum the boost pressure from 3.0 to 2.8 bar. In addition, the fuel cell volume was reduced from 65 to 60 liters and even 58 liters for the diesel hybrid.

“The target was to compensate for this as best as possible, for example through the reengineering of the combustion process and the optimization of the gas exchange – and we are extremely satisfied with the result,” says Ulrich Baretzky, Head of Engine Development at Audi Sport. “We also succeeded in making a significant weight reduction so that our 3.7 liter V6 TDI is now lighter than the 3.6 liter V8 TFSI of ten years ago – and this for approximately the same engine power, substantially more torque and considerably less fuel consumption. This is remarkable progress when you consider that diesel engines are often regarded as being
inherently heavier due to greater component load. This once again emphasizes Audi’s technical expertise.”

Innovation in the power transmission area

There is a genuine innovation in the area of the transmission: a new carbon-fiber composite gearbox housing was developed for the R18 – a premiere in endurance racing. Innovative materials and manufacturing processes to reduce mass are also used in the suspension area. The electromechanical steering, which gives the drivers even more precise feedback, is completely new.

The extremely advanced aerodynamic configuration from 2011 was initially adapted to suit the new regulations, which stipulate openings above the wheel arches. Additionally, the product concept catalogue also specified a further significant reduction in aerodynamic drag despite the increased cooling requirements for the hybrid components. Vision out of the closed cockpit was also improved through detailed optimization in the area of windshield cleaning and the area illuminated by the full LED headlights.

Fundamentally, the hybrid drive results in a slightly longer front section which also has positive effects on the overall balance of the conventionally powered twin brother that more than lives up to its model name ‘R18 ultra’: it is the lightest Le Mans prototype that Audi Sport has ever built. Accordingly, the engineers can position the additional ballast weight exactly where it is required – even if both cars have exactly the same overall weight. The regulations for LMP1 cars stipulate
900 kilograms.

“The new R18 ultra is a distinct evolution of last year’s Le Mans race winning car,” summarizes Head of Audi Motorsport Dr. Wolfgang Ullrich. “Our drivers’ impressions were positive from the first moment. Without the weight optimized R18 ultra we would have not been capable of realizing the R18 e-tron quattro which is absolutely identical with the exception of the hybrid system.”

Technical data Audi R18 ultra

Vehicle type: Le Mans Prototype (LMP1)

Monocoque: Carbon-fiber composite with aluminum honeycomb, tested according to the strict FIA crash and safety standards

Battery: Lithium ion batteries

Engine: Turbocharged 120° V6, 4 valves per cylinder, DOHC, 1 Garrett turbocharger, mandatory intake air restrictor of 1 x 45.8 mm diameter and turbo boost pressure limited to 2.8 bar absolute, diesel direct injection TDI, fully stressed aluminum cylinder block, diesel particle filter

Engine management: Bosch MS24

Engine lubrication: Dry sump, Castrol

Displacement: 3,700 cc

Power: Over 375 kW / 510 hp

Torque: Over 850 Nm

Type of drive: Rear wheel drive, traction control (ASR)

Clutch: Carbon clutch

Gearbox: Sequential, electrically activated 6-speed racing gearbox

Differential: Limited-slip rear differential

Gearbox housing: Carbon-fiber composite with titanium inserts

Driveshafts: Constant velocity sliding tripod universal joints

Steering: Electrical assisted rack and pinion steering

Suspension: Front and rear double wishbone independent suspension, front pushrod system and rear pull rod system with adjustable dampers

Brakes: Hydraulic dual circuit brake system, monobloc light alloy brake calipers, ventilated carbon disc brakes front and rear, infinitely manually adjustable front and rear brake balance

Wheels: O.Z. magnesium forged wheels

Tires: Michelin Radial, Front: 360/710-18, rear: 370/710-18

Length: 4,650 mm

Width: 2,000 mm

Height: 1,030 mm

Minimum weight: 900 kg

Fuel tank capacity: 60 liters

Die Autos » Museum

Audi R18 ultra

Audi R18 ultra

Audi fährt bei den 24 Stunden von Le Mans und in der neu geschaffenen FIALangstrecken-Weltmeisterschaft (WEC) in diesem Jahr zweigleisig – den Audi R18 des Modelljahres 2012 gibt es mit und ohne Hybridantrieb. Der Clou: Beide Fahrzeuge sind von der Basis her völlig identisch, deshalb hält sich der zusätzliche logistische Aufwand für Audi Sport und das Einsatzteam in Grenzen.

Als Audi Sport den R18 TDI für Le Mans 2011 konzipierte, hatten die Techniker bereits die zukünftige Elektrifizierung des Antriebs im Hinterkopf. Nicht absehbar war, dass die neuen, kleineren Triebwerke nach ihrer ersten Saison eine weitere Beschneidung durch das Reglement erfahren würden. Audi Sport setzte beim Projekt „R18“ von Anfang an auf einen kompakten und in seiner Architektur innovativen 3,7-Liter-V6-TDI-Motor mit Mono-Turbolader. Und genau das zahlt sich jetzt aus: Der Motor ist sehr kompakt und trägt seinen Teil dazu bei, das zusätzliche Gewicht des Hybridsystems kompensieren zu können. Und trotz der jüngsten Restriktionen des Automobile Club de l’Ouest (ACO) holt Audi Sport dank der Effizienz des Gesamtkonzeptes noch immer über 375 kW (510 PS) und ein maximales Drehmoment von mehr als 850 Nm aus dem Triebwerk.

Auf den ersten Blick sieht der R18 ultra nicht viel anders aus als der im vergangenen Jahr in Le Mans siegreiche R18 TDI. Doch die Ingenieure von Audi Sport haben unter der Leitung von Technikchef Dr. Martin Mühlmeier ganze Arbeit geleistet und kaum einen Bereich des Fahrzeugs unberührt gelassen. Das Ergebnis ist ein weitgehend neuer LMP1-Prototyp – inklusive eines modifizierten Kohlefaser-Monocoques, das weiterhin durch seine einteilige Bauweise besticht.

„Zur Kompensierung des Gewichts stand beim gesamten Fahrzeug das Thema Leichtbau im Vordergrund“, sagt Christopher Reinke, Technischer Projektleiter LMP bei Audi Sport. „Wir haben den ultra-Leichtbau konsequent fortgeführt, ohne die Aspekte Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit zu vernachlässigen. Das gilt für das Monocoque genauso wie für den Motor, das Getriebe und andere Komponenten.“

Der V6-TDI-Motor wurde nahezu in allen Bauteilen komplett überarbeitet und an die neuen Reglementvorgaben angepasst, die eine Reduktion der Motorleistung um etwa sieben Prozent als Ziel hatten – und zwar in Form eines kleineren Luftmengenbegrenzers (45,8 statt 47,4 Millimeter Durchmesser) und einer Reduzierung der maximalen Ladedrucks von 3,0 auf 2,8 bar. Zudem wurde das Tankvolumen von bisher 65 auf 60 Liter reduziert.

„Dies alles galt es so gut wie möglich zu kompensieren, zum Beispiel durch eine Überarbeitung des Brennverfahrens und eine Optimierung des Ladungswechsels – und wir sind mit dem Ergebnis recht zufrieden“, sagt Ulrich Baretzky, Leiter Motorenentwicklung bei Audi Sport. „Zudem ist uns eine erhebliche Gewichtsreduktion gelungen, sodass unser 3,7-Liter-V6-TDI inzwischen leichter ist als der 3,6-Liter-V8-TFSI von vor zehn Jahren – und das bei annähernd gleicher Motorleistung, deutlich mehr Drehmoment und wesentlich geringerem Verbrauch. Das ist ein bemerkenswerter Fortschritt, wenn man bedenkt, dass Dieselmotoren von Haus aus wegen der hohen Bauteilbelastung oft als schwer gelten, und unterstreicht einmal mehr die technische Kompetenz von Audi.“

Innovation im Bereich der Kraftübertragung

Eine echte Innovation gibt es im Bereich der Kraftübertragung: Für den R18 wurde ein neues Getriebe mit CFK-Gehäuse entwickelt – eine Premiere auf der Langstrecke. Auch im Bereich des Fahrwerks kommen innovative Materialien und Fertigungsverfahren zur Massenreduktion zum Einsatz. Komplett neu ist die elektromechanische Lenkung, die den Fahrern ein noch präziseres Gefühl gibt.

Die 2011 schon sehr ausgereifte Aerodynamik wurde in erster Linie an die neuen Regularien angepasst, die Öffnungen über den Radhäusern vorschreiben. Zudem stand eine weitere deutliche Absenkung des aerodynamischen Widerstands trotz eines gesteigerten Kühlungsbedarfs der Hybridkomponenten im Lastenheft. Die Sicht aus dem geschlossenen Cockpit wurde durch Detailoptimierungen im Bereich der Scheibenreinigung und des Leuchtfelds der Voll-LED-Scheinwerfer verbessert.

In erster Linie aus dem Hybridantrieb resultiert die etwas längere Frontpartie, die aber auch positive Auswirkungen auf die Gesamtbalance des konventionell angetriebenen Zwillingsbruders hat, der seiner Typenbezeichnung „R18 ultra“ alle Ehre macht: Er ist der leichteste Le-Mans-Prototyp, der bei Audi Sport je gebaut wurde. Entsprechend können die Ingenieure bei den Renneinsätzen Zusatzgewichte genau dort platzieren, wo es am besten ist – auch wenn beide Fahrzeuge genau dasselbe Gesamtgewicht auf die Waage bringen, nämlich die vom Reglement für LMP1-Fahrzeuge vorgeschriebenen 900 Kilogramm.

Technische Daten Audi R18 ultra

Fahrzeugtyp: Le Mans Prototyp (LMP1)

Monocoque: Verbundfaserkonstruktion aus Carbonfasern mit Aluminiumwabenkern, getestet nach den strengen FIA-Crash- und Sicherheitsstandards

Batterie: Lithium-Ionen-Batterie

Motor: V6-Motor mit Turboaufladung, 120-Grad-Zylinderwinkel, 4 Ventile pro Zylinder, DOHC, 1 Garrett-Turbolader, reglementbedingte Luftmengenbegrenzung auf 1 x 45,8 mm und Ladedruckbegrenzung auf 2,8 bar absolut, Dieseldirekteinspritzung TDI, Aluminium-Zylinderkurbelgehäuse voll tragend, Dieselpartikelfilter

Motormanagement: Bosch MS24

Motorschmierung: Trockensumpf, Castrol

Hubraum: 3.700 ccm

Leistung: über 375 kW / 510 PS

Drehmoment: über 850 Nm


Antriebsart: Heckantrieb, Traktionskontrolle (ASR), Allradantrieb e-tron quattro ab 120 km/h*

Kupplung: CFK-Kupplung

Getriebe: Sequenzielles, elektrisch betätigtes 6-Gang-Sportgetriebe

Differenzial; Sperrdifferenzial hinten

Getriebegehäuse: CFK mit Titan-Inserts

Antriebswellen: Gleichlauf-Tripode-Verschiebegelenkwellen

Lenkung: Elektrounterstützte Zahnstangenlenkung

Fahrwerk: Vorne und hinten Einzelradaufhängung an Doppelquerlenkern, Pushrod-System an VA und Pullrod-System an HA mit einstellbaren Stoßdämpfern

Bremsen: Hydraulische Zweikreisbremsanlage, Monoblock-Leichtmetall-Bremssättel, belüftete Kohlefaser-Bremsscheiben vorne und hinten, Bremskraftverteilung vom Fahrer stufenlos einstellbar

Felgen: O.Z.-Schmiedefelgen aus Magnesium

Reifen: Michelin Radial, vorne: 360/710-18, hinten: 370/710-18

Länge: 4.650 mm

Breite: 2.000 mm

Höhe: 1.030 mm

Mindestgewicht: 900 kg

Tankinhalt: 60 Liter