Cars » Museum

Audi R8

Audi R8

The Audi R8 plays a very important role in the history of Joest Racing. The team won the 24 Hours of Le Mans three times in succession and the American Le Mans Series (ALMS) four times in a row with sportscar from Ingolstadt.

Reinhold Joest’s squad was integrated, as race team, in the R8 development from the very beginning. “We tried to pass on all of our experience”, explains Ralf Jüttner, Technical Director and one two directors of Joest Racing GmbH. “With the R8, Audi Sport created something quiet incredible. In its sixth racing season, the R8 still sets the standards – and its reliability is second to none: We’ve only ever had a single technical defect in all the races, and that was clutch failure.”

The most successful Le Mans Prototype of all time celebrated its 50th victory at the 1000 kilometre race in Spa-Francorchamps. This milestone is particularly impressive because it was reached in only 60 races over four years. Audi Sport Team Joest has notched up 33 of these wins.

The Audi R8 has been regarded as the Sports Prototype to beat since its debut at the 12-hour race in Sebring in March 2000. The R8 has won the renowned 24 Hours of Le Mans five times. With six successive victories at Sebring it remained unbeaten just as it did at the “Petit Le Mans” at Road Atlanta. R8 drivers have won the American Le Mans Series (ALMS) six times on the trot. And in the Le Mans Endurance Series (LMES), held for the first time in 2004, it was also in a class of its own from the word “go”.

The R8 developed under the combined leadership of Audi Motorsport Head Dr Wolfgang Ullrich, Wolfgang Appel (Vehicle Technology) and Ulrich Baretzky (Engine Technology) has not only set new performance standards in sportscar racing. Its reliability is almost legendary: Till today there was not a single engine failure during a race.

The V8 engine in the Audi R8 is equipped with the globally unique combination of FSI and Turbo technology. In the meantime, this combination is now successfully used in the new A3 and A4 2.0T models. The advantage of this combination in motorsport is the same as in everyday use: less fuel consumption with improved initial response. “As a result we were able to drive one lap longer with a tank of fuel than the competition in Le Mans”, knows Ralf Jüttner. 

The Audi engineers involved on the R8 project also demonstrated “Vorsprung durch Technik” in many other areas. The R8 was the first Le Mans Prototype with a hydraulically actuated gear shift mechanism. Audi also developed a unique system that allowed the complete gearbox and suspension unit to be changed in almost four minutes – a fascinatingly choreographed operation that has since been forbidden by the regulations.

Other rule changes targeted the performance of the Le Mans Prototypes. In the meantime, the Audi R8 must make do with less power (approx. 520 instead of the original 610 hp) and a narrower rear wing. However, the R8 remains in a league of its own, particularly over a race distance. 

The meaning of the model number “R8” was the subject of much head scratching for a long time. The explanation is simple: Since the legendary original quattro, Audi Sport numbers all internal vehicle projects sequentially. With the R8, the project name became the official name for the car and is now synonymous for the world’s most successful Le Mans Prototype. In the case of the Audi R8, the project name has been used to officially baptise the car. Now, it is synonymous with the most successful Le Mans prototype in the world. The car won races even in its final season in 2006, a feat that includes the very last race at Lime Rock (USA): in its 80th outing, the R8 scored its 63rd victory - a dignified exit of a legend.

Technical data (2003)

Monocoque: Carbon fibre, crash structure ACO and FIA approved. CFC rollbars front and rear, carbon fibre body

Engine: V8, turbo charged, 90 degree cylinder angle, 4 valves per cylinder, 2 Garrett turbo chargers, to comply with the rules 2 x 30.7 mm air restrictors and boost pressure restriction to 1.67 bars absolute, direct fuel injection FSI

Displacement: 3600 cc

Output: 550 hp

Torque: more than 700 Nm

Transmission: Rear wheel drive

Gearbox: Sequential 6-speed sports gearbox, partner Ricardo

Steering: Rack-and-pinion power steering

Suspension: Independent suspension at front and rear. Double-wishbone suspension. Pushrod system with horizontal spring/damper unit, adjustable gas-filled shock absorbers

Brakes: hydraulic dual-circuit brake system, monobloc light-alloy brake callipers, ventilated carbon fibre brake discs at front and rear, brake balance adjustable by driver

Length: 4650 mm

Width: 2000 mm

Height: 1080 mm

Minimum weight: 900 kgs

Fuel tank capacity: 90 litres

Die Autos » Museum

Audi R8

Audi R8

Der Audi R8 hat einen ganz besonderen Stellenwert in der Historie von Joest Racing. Mit dem Ingolstädter Sportwagen gewann das Team dreimal in Folge die 24 Stunden von Le Mans und viermal hintereinander die American Le Mans-Serie (ALMS).

Die Mannschaft von Reinhold Joest war als Einsatzteam von Anfang an in die Entwicklung des R8 eingebunden. “Wir haben versucht, all unsere Erfahrung mit einfließen zu lassen”, erklärt Ralf Jüttner, Technischer Direktor und einer der beiden Geschäftsführer der Joest Racing GmbH. “Mit dem R8 ist Audi Sport ein ganz großer Wurf gelungen. Auch in seiner sechsten Rennsaison ist der R8 noch immer der Maßstab - und seine Zuverlässigkeit ist unglaublich: Wir hatten in allen Renneinsätzen nur einen einzigen technischen Defekt, und das war ein Kupplungsschaden.”

Im vergangenen Jahr feierte der erfolgreichste Le Mans-Prototyp aller Zeiten beim 1000-Kilometer-Rennen in Spa-Francorchamps seinen 50. Sieg. Besonders eindrucksvoll ist dieser Meilenstein, weil er in lediglich vier Jahren bei nur 60 Renneinsätzen erreicht wurde. 33 der Siege gegen auf das Konto des Audi Sport Team Joest.

Seit seinem Debüt beim 12-Stunden-Rennen in Sebring im März 2000 ist der Audi R8 der Sport-Prototyp, den es zu schlagen gilt. Fünfmal gewann der R8 die berühmten 24 Stunden von Le Mans. In Sebring blieb er mit sechs Siegen in Folge von 2000 bis 2005 genauso ungeschlagen wie beim “Petit Le Mans” in Road Atlanta. Sechsmal hintereinander haben R8-Piloten die American Le Mans-Serie (ALMS) gewonnen. Und auch in der 2004 erstmals ausgetragenen Le Mans Endurance-Serie (LMES) war der R8 auf Anhieb eine Klasse für sich.

Der unter Leitung von Audi Motorsportchef Dr. Wolfgang Ullrich sowie Wolfgang Appel (Fahrzeugtechnik) und Ulrich Baretzky (Motorentechnik) entwickelte R8 hat dabei nicht nur in Sachen Performance neue Maßstäbe bei Sportwagen-Rennen gesetzt. Geradezu sprichwörtlich ist seine Zuverlässigkeit: Bis heute gab es keinen einzigen Motorschaden bei einem Renneinsatz. 

Seit der Saison 2001 verfügte der V8-Motor des Audi R8 über die weltweit einmalige Kombination von FSI- und Turbo-Technologie. Sie kommt inzwischen auch bei den neuen Modellen A3 und A4 2.0T erfolgreich zum Einsatz. Der Vorteil dieser ist im Motorsport derselbe wie im Alltag: geringerer Benzinverbrauch bei gleichzeitig besserem Ansprechverhalten. “Dadurch konnten wir in Le Mans mit einer Tankfüllung eine Runde länger fahren als die Konkurrenz”, weiß Ralf Jüttner.

Auch in vielen anderen Bereichen demonstrierten die Audi-Ingenieure beim R8-Projekt “Vorsprung durch Technik”. So war der R8 der erste Le Mans-Prototyp mit einer pneumatisch betätigten Schaltung. Außerdem entwickelte Audi ein einzigartiges System, das den Wechsel des gesamten Hinterwagens in knapp vier Minuten ermöglichte – ein faszinierendes Schauspiel, das allerdings mittlerweile vom Reglement verboten wurde.

Andere Regeländerungen zielten auf die Performance der Le Mans-Prototypen ab. So muss der Audi R8 inzwischen mit weniger Leistung (ca. 520 statt ursprünglich 610 PS) und einem schmaleren Heckflügel auskommen. Trotzdem ist der R8 vor allem über die Renndistanz noch immer eine Klasse für sich. 

Gerätselt wurde lange über die Bedeutung der Typenbezeichnung “R8”. Die Erklärung ist einfach: Seit dem legendären Ur-quattro nummeriert Audi Sport alle Fahrzeug-Projekte intern durch. Beim R8 wurde der Projektname auch zum offiziellen Namen des Wagens und ist nun Synonym für den erfolgreichsten Le Mans-Prototyp der Welt, der auch bei seiner Abschiedstournee 2006 noch Rennen gewann. So auch bei seinem letzten Einsatz in Lime Rock (USA): Beim 80. Rennen markierte der R8 seinen 63 Sieg - der würdevolle Abtritt einer Legende.

Technische Daten (2003)

Monocoque: Kohlefaser, Crash-Struktur ACO und FIA geprüft. CFK-Überrollbügel vorne und hinten,

Karosserie: Kohlefaser

Motor: V8-Motor mit Turboaufladung, 90-Grad-Zylinderwinkel, 4 Ventile pro Zylinder, 2 Garrett-Turbolader, reglement-bedingte Luftmengenbegrenzung auf 2 x 30,7 mm und Ladedruckbegrenzung auf 1,67 bar absolut, Benzindirekteinspritzung FSI

Hubraum: 3600 ccm

Leistung: 550 PS

Drehmoment: über 700 Nm

Kraftübertragung: Heckantrieb

Getriebe: sequenzielles 6-Gang-Sportgetriebe, Partner Ricardo

Fahrwerk: Einzelradaufhängung vorne und hinten. DoppelquerlenkerAufhängung. Pushrod-System mit Feder/Dämpfer-Einheit, einstellbare Gasdruckstoßdämpfer

Bremsen: hydraulische Zweikreisbremsanlage, Monoblock-Leichtmetall-Bremssättel, innenbelüftete Kohlefaser-Bremsscheiben vorne und hinten, Bremskraftverteilung vom Fahrer stufenlos einstellbar

Länge: 4650 mm

Breite: 2000 mm

Höhe: 1080 mm

Mindestgewicht: 900 Kilogramm

Tankinhalt: 90 Liter