Audi R18 e-tron quattro

Audi R18 e-tron quattro 2013

The Audi R18 e-tron quattro only starts its second race season in 2013 – but it is already a legend: exactly like the Audi R10 TDI, the first hybrid racecar to win the 24 Hours of Le Mans was voted by an Automobile Club de l’Ouest (ACO) jury to be one of the most important Le Mans racecars of all time.

Technical milestones at the 24 Hours of Le Mans are nothing unusual for Audi: the brand with the four rings has always consistently used the endurance classic to race new technologies – TFSI, TDI, VTG, ultra lightweight design or now e-tron quattro are good examples of the brand’s pioneering spirit in motorsport.

Through the intelligent combination of a conventionally powered rear axle with an electrically powered front axle the Audi R18 is transformed into an e-tron quattro – the first Audi racecar which is not powered exclusively by a combustion engine. The system located in the front of the car comprises of two driveshafts and a Motor Generator Unit (MGU) together with planetary gearbox, which retrieves its own energy from the electric flywheel accumulator mounted alongside the driver in the cockpit.

The energy is recuperated and stored during braking. In the process, the front wheels drive the Motor Generator Unit. This accelerates electrically a carbon-fiber flywheel, which runs in a high vacuum. Once the corner is taken and the driver accelerates again, the system delivers the energy to the front axle – but as the regulations state, however, only above a speed of 120 km/h. “As a result, the advantage that we could theoretically have with the electric quattro drive is obviously severely limited,” explains Head of Audi Motorsport Dr. Wolfgang Ullrich. The regulations also limit the maximum amount of energy that can be transmitted to the front wheels between two braking phases.

The hybrid system and quattro driver are, however, not the only peculiarities of the Audi R18 e-tron quattro. Only with the help of consistent and logical ultra lightweight design was it possible to realize the minimum weight permitted by the regulations – and this without compromising the aspects of safety and reliability.

To achieve this Audi Sport explored every possibility in all the decisive areas: with the chassis in the same way as the engine and drivetrain. The R18 grabbed attention in 2011 with a one-piece carbon-fiber monocoque – a first among Le Mans Prototypes. Consequently, the safety cell is particularly light, yet extremely stable and safe at the same time. An innovation in the transmission area followed in 2012: a new gearbox with carbon-fiber composite casing was developed for the R18 – another premiere for endurance racing. In the suspension area, new materials and manufacturing processes to reduce mass are also used.

Thanks to its innovative architecture, the particularly compact 3.7-liter V6 TDI engine with mono turbocharger plays a significant role in compensating for the additional weight of the hybrid system. Despite the frequent new restrictions imposed by the regulations, Audi Sport still extracts over 360 kW (490 hp) and a maximum torque of more than 850 Nm from the power plant thanks to the efficiency of the overall concept.

Numerous other technical innovations such as the electromechanical steering, digital rear view mirror, which shows the events unfolding behind on an AMOLED display in the cockpit, or the extremely bright full LED headlights make the R18 e-tron quattro a unique technology demonstrator.

Although the R18 successor for the new LMP1 regulations, which come into force in 2014, has long since taken shape, many details of the Audi R18 e-tron quattro were reworked for the 2013 season. The flywheel accumulator is even more efficient. The MGU now produces over 2 x 80 kW instead of the previous 2 x 75 kW. The aerodynamic efficiency was further optimized, the ultra lightweight concept systematically continued, and the digital rear view mirror used for the first time last year was complemented by an additional two forward-facing cameras that give the drivers the maximum field of front-vision.

The 2013 model Audi R18 e-tron quattro celebrates its race debut on March 16 in the 12-hour race at Sebring (Florida).

Technical data Audi R18 e-tron quattro

Vehicle type: Le Mans Prototype (LMP1)

Monocoque: Carbon-fiber composite with aluminum honeycomb, tested according to the strict FIA crash and safety standards

Battery: Lithium ion batteries

Engine: Turbocharged 120° V6, 4 valves per cylinder, DOHC, 1 Garrett turbocharger, mandatory intake air restrictor of 1 x 45.1 mm diameter and turbo boost pressure limited to 2.8 bar absolute, diesel direct injection TDI, fully stressed aluminum cylinder block

Engine management: Bosch MS24

Engine lubrication: Dry sump, Castrol

Displacement: 3,700 cc

Power: Over 360 kW / 490 hp

Torque: Over 850 Nm

Hybrid system: Electric flywheel accumulator, max 500 KJ, WHP

Motor Generator Unit (MGU): MGU on the front axle, water cooled with integrated power electronics, 2 x 80 kW

Drive / transmission: Rear wheel drive, traction control (ASR), four-wheel drive e-tron quattro from 120 km/h

Clutch: Carbon clutch

Gearbox: Sequential, electrically activated 6-speed racing gearbox

Differential: Limited-slip rear differential

Gearbox housing: Carbon-fiber composite with titanium inserts

Driveshafts: Constant velocity sliding tripod universal joints

Steering: Electrical assisted rack and pinion steering

Suspension: Front and rear double wishbone independent suspension, front pushrod system and rear pull rod system with adjustable dampers

Brakes: Hydraulic dual circuit brake system, monobloc light alloy brake calipers, ventilated carbon disc brakes front and rear, infinitely manually adjustable front and rear brake balance

Wheels: O.Z. magnesium forged wheels

Tires: Michelin Radial, Front: 360/710-18, rear: 370/710-18

Length: 4,650 mm

Width: 2,000 mm

Height: 1,030 mm

Minimum weight: 915 kg

Fuel tank capacity: 58 liters

Audi R18 e-tron quattro

Audi R18 e-tron quattro 2013

Der Audi R18 e-tron quattro startet 2013 erst in seine zweite Rennsaison – aber schon jetzt ist er eine Legende: Genau wie der Audi R10 TDI wurde der erste Hybrid-Rennwagen, der die 24 Stunden von Le Mans gewann, von einer Jury des Automobile Club de l’Ouest (ACO) zu einem der zehn bedeutendsten Le-Mans-Rennwagen aller Zeiten gewählt.

Technische Meilensteine bei den 24 Stunden von Le Mans sind für Audi nichts Ungewöhnliches: Die Marke mit den Vier Ringen nutzt den Langenstrecken-Klassiker seit jeher konsequent für den Einsatz neuer Technologien – TFSI, TDI, VTG, ultra-Leichtbau oder eben e-tron quattro sind gute Beispiele für den Pioniergeist der Marke im Motorsport.

Durch die intelligente Kombination einer konventionell angetriebenen Hinterachse mit einer elektrisch angetriebenen Vorderachse wird der Audi R18 zum e-tron quattro – dem ersten Rennwagen von Audi, der nicht mehr ausschließlich von einem Verbrennungsmotor angetrieben wird. Das im Vorderwagen platzierte System besteht aus zwei Antriebswellen und einer Motor-Generator-Einheit (MGU) mitsamt Planetengetriebe, das seine Energie aus einem neben dem Fahrer im Cockpit platzierten elektrischen Schwungrad-Speicher bezieht.

Die Speicherung der Energie erfolgt beim Bremsen. Dabei treiben die Vorderräder die Motor-Generator-Einheit an. Diese beschleunigt elektrisch ein Kohlefaser-Schwungrad, das im Hochvakuum läuft. Ist die Kurve durchfahren und der Fahrer beschleunigt wieder, gibt das System die Energie an die Vorderachse ab – reglementbedingt allerdings erst ab einer Geschwindigkeit von 120 km/h. „Dadurch wird der Vorteil, den wir theoretisch mit dem elektrischen quattro-Antrieb haben könnten, natürlich stark eingeschränkt“, erklärt Audi-Motorsportchef Dr. Wolfgang Ullrich. Auch die maximale Energiemenge, die zwischen zwei Bremsphasen an die Vorderräder abgegeben werden darf, ist vom Reglement limitiert.

Das Hybrid-System und der quattro-Antrieb sind aber nicht die einzigen Besonderheiten des Audi R18 e-tron quattro. Nur mithilfe konsequenten ultra-Leichtbaus war es möglich, das vom Reglement zulässige Mindestgewicht zu realisieren – und das, ohne die Aspekte Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit zu vernachlässigen.

Dabei setzte Audi Sport den Hebel in allen entscheidenden Bereichen an: beim Chassis genauso wie beim Motor und der Kraftübertragung. Der R18 sorgte schon 2011 mit einem Kohlefaser-Monocoque in einteiliger Bauweise für Aufsehen – ein Novum bei den Le-Mans-Prototypen. Dadurch fällt die Sicherheitszelle besonders leicht aus, sie ist aber gleichzeitig extrem stabil und sicher. 2012 folgte eine Innovation im Bereich der Kraftübertragung: Für den R18 wurde ein neues Getriebe mit CFK-Gehäuse entwickelt – ebenfalls eine Premiere auf der Langstrecke. Und auch im Bereich des Fahrwerks kommen neuartige Materialien und Fertigungsverfahren zur Massenreduktion zum Einsatz.

Der besonders kompakte und in seiner Architektur innovative 3,7-Liter-V6-TDI-Motor mit Mono-Turbolader trägt einen erheblichen Teil dazu bei, das zusätzliche Gewicht des Hybrid-Systems zu kompensieren. Trotz immer neuer reglementbedingter Restriktionen holt Audi Sport dank der Effizienz des Gesamtkonzeptes dabei noch immer über 360 kW (490 PS) und ein maximales Drehmoment von mehr als 850 Nm aus dem Triebwerk.

Zahlreiche weitere technische Innovationen wie eine elektromechanische Lenkung, ein digitaler Rückspiegel, der im Cockpit das rückwärtige Geschehen auf einem AMOLED-Display abbildet, oder die extrem hellen Voll-LED-Scheinwerfer machen den R18 e-tron quattro zu einem einzigartigen Technologieträger.

Obwohl bei Audi Sport längst der R18-Nachfolger für das ab 2014 gültige neue LMP1-Reglement entsteht, wurde der Audi R18 e-tron quattro für die Saison 2013 in zahlreichen Details überarbeitet. Das Schwungrad-Speichersystem ist noch leistungsfähiger. Die MGU leistet nun über 2 x 80 kW statt bisher 2x 75 kW. Die aerodynamische Effizienz des R18 wurde weiter optimiert, der ultra-Leichtbau konsequent fortgesetzt. Und der im vergangenen Jahr erstmals eingesetzte digitale Rückspiegel wurde um zwei nach vorn gerichtete Kameras ergänzt, um für den Fahrer auch nach vorn die maximale Übersicht sicherzustellen.

Seine Rennpremiere feiert der Audi R18 e-tron quattro des Modelljahres 2013 am 16. März beim 12-Stunden-Rennen in Sebring (Florida).

Technische Daten Audi R18 e-tron quattro

Fahrzeugtyp: Le Mans Prototyp (LMP1)

Monocoque: Verbundfaserkonstruktion aus Carbonfasern mit Aluminiumwabenkern, getestet nach den strengen FIA-Crash- und Sicherheitsstandards

Batterie: Lithium-Ionen-Batterie

Motor: V6-Motor mit Turboaufladung, 120-Grad-Zylinderwinkel, 4 Ventile pro Zylinder, DOHC, 1 Garrett-Turbolader, reglementbedingte Luftmengenbegrenzung auf 1 x 45,1 mm und Ladedruckbegrenzung auf 2,8 bar absolut, Dieseldirekteinspritzung TDI, Aluminium-Zylinderkurbelgehäuse voll tragend, Dieselpartikelfilter

Motormanagement: Bosch MS24

Motorschmierung: Trockensumpf, Castrol

Hubraum: 3.700 ccm

Leistung: über 360 kW / 490 PS

Drehmoment: über 850 Nm

Hybrid-System: elektrischer Schwungradspeicher, max. 500 KJ, WHP

Motor-Generator-Einheit (MGU): MGU an der Vorderachse, wassergekühlt mit integrierter Leistungselektronik, 2 x 80 kW

Antrieb / Kraftübertragung: Heckantrieb, Traktionskontrolle (ASR), Allradantrieb e-tron quattro ab 120 km/h*

Kupplung: CFK-Kupplung

Getriebe: Sequenzielles, elektrisch betätigtes 6-Gang-Sportgetriebe

Differenzial: Sperrdifferenzial hinten

Getriebegehäuse: CFK mit Titan-Inserts

Antriebswellen: Gleichlauf-Tripode-Verschiebegelenkwellen

Lenkung: Elektrounterstützte Zahnstangenlenkung

Fahrwerk: Vorne und hinten Einzelradaufhängung an Doppelquerlenkern, Pushrod-System an VA und Pullrod-System an HA mit einstellbaren Stoßdämpfern

Bremsen: Hydraulische Zweikreisbremsanlage, Monoblock-Leichtmetall-Bremssättel, belüftete Kohlefaser-Bremsscheiben vorne und hinten, Bremskraftverteilung vom Fahrer stufenlos einstellbar

Felgen: O.Z.-Schmiedefelgen aus Magnesium

Reifen: Michelin Radial, vorne: 360/710-18, hinten: 370/710-18

Länge: 4.650 mm

Breite: 2.000 mm

Höhe: 1.030 mm

Mindestgewicht: 915 kg

Tankinhalt: 58 Liter