History

02_Daytona_1980.JPG

Success is not a question of luck

15 wins at the world’s toughest car race, the 24 Hours of Le Mans, are not a coincidence. Reinhold Joest’s team is the most successful sportscar team of the last twenty years.

The wins are a product of hard work and a huge amount of experience from which the team form the Odenwald region near Frankfurt, can draw on. Reinhold Joest has achieved what many others attempted in vain: The step from successful racing driver to successful team boss.

Joest succeeded in mounting the winners’ rostrum as sports car driver himself in Le Mans. However, his team, established in 1978, celebrated even greater achievements. In the 1980s and 90s Joest racing set the standards sportscar racing. The team won the long distance classics in Daytona, at the Nürburgring, in Le Mans, Sebring and Road Atlanta. The Supercup, the Interseries, the ALMS and the World Championship. The first excursion into touring car racing was crowned by success: Joest Racing won the International Touring Car Championship (ITC) with an Opel Calibra in 1996. 

Exactly as in the Audi Sports Prototypes project, Joest Racing was also integrated during the development stage of the Class 1 Opel. “We were always more than just a pure race team”, says Team Director Reinhold Joest. “Our partners have always benefited from our input and know-how.” s

It is no secret that Reinhold Joest has always had a weak spot for Sports Prototypes, such as those racing at the 24 Hours of Le Mans and in the American Le Mans Series (ALMS). That’s why Joest was the perfect partner for Audi when the company based in Ingolstadt decided to design and build a racing sportscar for Le Mans. Audi Sport in Ingolstadt and Joest Racing has made the perfect team since 1998. “The many joint successes are the product of perfect team work”, says Joest.

The team’s strength lies in the years of experience. The heart of the team was already in the thick of the action during the first Le Mans victories. In Managing Director Ralf Jüttner, Joest Racing has one of the most experienced engineers with enormous sportscar expertise.

Historie

02_Daytona_1980.JPG

Erfolg ist kein Zufall

15 Siege beim härtesten Autorennen der Welt, den 24 Stunden von Le Mans, sind kein Zufall. Das Team von Reinhold Joest ist das erfolgreichste Sportwagen-Team der letzten 20 Jahre.

Die Siege sind ein Produkt harter Arbeit und eines enormen Erfahrungsschatzes, von dem die Mannschaft aus dem Odenwald bei Frankfurt zehren kann. Reinhold Joest ist gelungen, was viele andere vergeblich versucht haben: der Schritt vom erfolgreichen Rennfahrer zum erfolgreichen Teamchef. 

Als Sportwagen-Pilot schaffte Joest in Le Mans selbst den Sprung auf das Siegerpodest. Noch größere Erfolge feierte aber sein 1978 gegründetes Team. In den 80er und 90er Jahren setzte Joest Racing bei Sportwagen-Rennen Maßstäbe. Das Team gewann die Langstrecken-Klassiker in Daytona, auf dem Nürburging, in Le Mans, Sebring und Road Atlanta. Den Supercup, die Interserie, die ALMS und die Weltmeisterschaft. Auch der erste Abstecher in den Tourenwagen-Sport war von Erfolg gekrönt: 1996 siegte Joest Racing mit einem Opel Calibra in der Internationalen Tourenwagen-Meisterschaft (ITC). 

Genau wie später beim Sportwagen-Projekt von Audi war Joest Racing auch beim Klasse 1-Opel von Anfang an in die Entwicklung eingebunden. “Wir waren immer mehr als ein reines Einsatzteam”, sagt Teamdirektor Reinhold Joest. “Unsere Partner haben stets davon profitiert, dass wir unser eigenes Know-how eingebracht haben.” 

Das Herz von Reinhold Joest schlug dabei schon immer für die Sport-Prototypen, wie sie bei den 24 Stunden von Le Mans und in der American Le Mans-Serie (ALMS) eingesetzt werden. Deshalb war Joest der perfekte Partner für Audi, als sich das Unternehmen aus Ingolstadt entschied, einen Rennsportwagen für Le Mans zu bauen. Seit 1998 ergänzen sich Audi Sport in Ingolstadt und Joest Racing hervorragend. “Die vielen gemeinsamen Erfolge sind das Produkt perfekten Teamworks”, sagt Joest. 

Die Stärke des Teams liegt in der langjährigen Erfahrung. Die Kernmannschaft war schon bei den ersten Le Mans-Siegen dabei. Mit Geschäftsführer Ralf Jüttner verfügt Joest Racing über einen versierten Techniker mit enormen Sportwagen-Know-how.