Reinhold Joest

Reinhold Joest

Reinhold Joest has achieved what many others attempted in vain: The step from successful racing driver to an even more successful team owner.

Reinhold Joest’s career as racing driver began in 1962 with a Porsche 75 S at the Eberbach Hill Climb. Joest competed mainly in hill climb events till 1967 and was German Champion twice. From 1966 onwards Reinhold Joest devoted more and more time to circuit racing and was successful immediately. The class win at the 1000 kilometre race around the Nürburgring in 1966 was one of the most important wins.

As driver, Reinhold Joest celebrated overall victories at the 1000 kilometre race around the legendary Nürburgring-Nordschleife, the world’s most difficult race track, in 1970 and 1980. Six times he celebrated class victories.

Thanks to his performances, Reinhold Joest was asked to drive for the Porsche works team in 1971. As works driver he celebrated numerous successes, however, Reinhold Joest was unable to fulfil the dream of winning in Le Mans. In 1969 he was third in Le Mans driving a Ford GT40, as well as 1972 in the Porsche 908/2 Long-tail. In 1978 and 1980 he finished second with the Porsche 936. 

However, Reinhold Joest won the Interseries, many rounds of the Sportscar World Championship and, in 1980, the 24-hour race in Daytona Beach (Florida). 

Also at the end of his career as racing driver, Reinhold Joest was also dealt a lucky hand: His last race was the 9 Hours of Kyalami at the end of 1981 in South Africa, which he won together with Jochen Mass. Very few race drivers manage to wave goodbye with a victory. Reinhold Joest fulfilled his dream of victory in Le Mans later as team boss, not just once but more than ten times…

Ralf Jüttner, Sigrun Jüttner, Reinhold Joest

Mazda Team Joest

Reinhold Joest´s team is the most successful Le Mans team ever.

Reinhold Joest succeeded in mounting the winners’ rostrum as a sportscar driver himself at Le Mans. However, his team, established in 1978, celebrated even greater achievements. In the 1980s and 90s, Joest Racing set the standards in sportscar racing. The team won the long distance classics at Daytona, the Nürburgring, Le Mans, Sebring and Road Atlanta. The Supercup, the Interseries, and the American Le Mans Series. The excursion into touring car racing was crowned by success: Joest Racing won the International Touring Car Championship (ITC) in 1996. 

Joest Racing has been a partner of Audi Sport from 1998 to 1999. Audi scored a podium finish on its Le Mans début in 1999 with the Audi R8R. In 2000, 2001 and 2002 Audi Sport Team Joest won convincingly at Le Mans – and brought every R8 competing in the race to the finish in the top three positions. The team from the Odenwald region in Germany also won the American Le Mans Series four times in succession. 

Reinhold Joest’s team was integrated in the development of new sportcars from the very beginning. “We were always more than just a pure race team,” says Team Director Reinhold Joest. “Our partners have always benefited from our input and know-how.” In Ralf Jüttner, the team has one of the most experienced engineers in the sportscar scene.

Ralf Jüttner

Ralf Jüttner

As Managing Director Ralf Jüttner, born in 1957, shoulders extensive responsibility at Joest Racing. Jüttner has been employed at the Wald-Michelbach based racing team since 1992 and, in addition to the many sportscar victories, also led the team to the ITC championship title with the Opel Calibra. In 2003 and 2004 when Audi did not compete as factory team in sportscars Jüttner supported the customer team Goh and the Audi group sister Bentley with his know-how during their Le Mans victories.

Jüttner inherited the love of motorsport at birth. His father Fritz was factory driver for Borgward. He saved his race car from the bankruptcy of the brand before it was inherited by his son Ralf. Today the car is on display in the Prototype Museum in Hamburg.

Ralf Jüttner also likes it quick in his rare spare time: he rides a motorbike and occasionally competes in slot car races. He has also won a 24-hour slot car race.

Reinhold Joest

Reinhold Joest

Reinhold Joest hat das geschafft, was nur ganz wenigen gelingt: der Sprung vom erfolgreichen Rennfahrer zum noch erfolgreicheren Teamchef.

Die Karriere des Rennfahres Reinhold Joest begann 1962 mit einem Porsche 75 S beim Bergrennen Eberbach. Bis 1967 fuhr Joest vor allem Bergrennen und wurde dabei zweimal Deutscher Meister. Ab 1966 wechselte Reinhold Joest allmählich auf die Rundstrecke und war auch dort auf Anhieb erfolgreich. Der Klassensieg beim 1000-Kilometer-Rennen auf dem Nürburgring 1966 war der erste bedeutende Erfolg.

Beim 1000-Kilometer-Rennen auf der legendären Nürburgring-Nordschleife, der schwierigsten Rennstrecke der Welt, feierte Reinhold Joest als Fahrer 1970 und 1980 jeweils einen Gesamtsieg. Insgesamt sechsmal feierte er einen Klassensieg. 

Dank seiner Leistungen wurde Reinhold Joest 1971 ins Porsche-Werksteam berufen. Als Werksfahrer feierte er zahlreiche Erfolge, den Traum vom Le Mans-Sieg konnte sich Reinhold Joest aber nicht erfüllen. 1969 wurde er im Ford GT40 in Le Mans Dritter, ebenso 1972 im Porsche 908/2 Langheck. 1978 und 1980 belegte er im Porsche 936 jeweils den zweiten Platz.

Dafür gewann Reinhold Joest die Interserie, mehrere Läufe der Sportwagen-Weltmeisterschaft und 1980 auch das 24-Stunden-Rennen in Daytona Beach (Florida).

Auch für das Ende seiner Laufbahn als Rennfahrer hatte Reinhold Joest ein glückliches Händchen: Sein letztes Rennen waren die 9 Stunden von Kylami Ende 1981 in Südafrika, die er gemeinsam mit Jochen Mass gewann. Nur wenigen Rennfahrern gelingt es, sich mit einem Sieg zu verabschieden. Reinhold Joest hat es geschafft und sich den Traum vom Sieg in Le Mans als Teamchef später gleich mehr als ein Dutzend mal erfüllt…

Ralf Jüttner, Sigrun Jüttner, Reinhold Joest

Mazda Team Joest

Kein Team hat die 24 Stunden von Le Mans öfter gewonnen als die Mannschaft von Reinhold Joest.

Als Sportwagen-Pilot schaffte Reinhold Joest in Le Mans selbst den Sprung auf das Siegerpodest. Noch größere Erfolge feierte aber sein 1978 gegründetes Rennteam. In den 80er und 90er Jahren setzte Joest Racing bei Sportwagen-Rennen Maßstäbe. Das Team gewann die Langstrecken-Klassiker in Daytona, auf dem Nürburging, in Le Mans, Sebring und Road Atlanta. Den Supercup, die Interserie, die American Le Mans-Serie. Auch ein Abstecher in den Tourenwagen-Sport war von Erfolg gekrönt: 1996 siegte Joest Racing in der Internationalen Tourenwagen-Meisterschaft (ITC).

Von 1998 bis 2016 war Joest Racing Partner von Audi Sport. Mit dem Audi R8R gelang 1999 beim Le Mans-Debüt von Audi gleich ein Podiumsergebnis. 2000, 2001 und 2002 siegte das Audi Sport Team Joest in Le Mans souverän – und brachte dabei jeweils alle eingesetzten Audi R8 auf den ersten Plätzen ins Ziel. Zudem gewann das Team aus dem Odenwald viermal in Folge die American Le Mans-Serie. 

Üblich ist es, dass die Mannschaft von Reinhold Joest von Anfang an in die Entwicklung neuer Sportwagen eingebunden wird. “Wir waren schon immer mehr als ein reines Einsatzteam”, sagt Teamgründer Reinhold Joest. “Unsere Partner haben stets davon profitiert, dass wir unser eigenes Know-how eingebracht haben.” Mit Teamdirektor Ralf Jüttner verfügt das Team über einen der versiertesten Techniker der Sportwagen-Szene.

Ralf Jüttner

Ralf Jüttner

Als Teamdirektor und Geschäftsführer trägt Ralf Jüttner, Jahrgang 1957, umfangreiche Verantwortung bei Joest Racing. Jüttner ist seit 1992 beim Wald-Michelbacher Rennstall angestellt und führte das Team neben den vielen Sportwagen-Triumphen unter anderem zum Titelgewinn in der ITC mit dem Opel Calibra. Als Audi 2003 und 2004 werksseitig nicht im Sportwagenbereich antrat, stand Jüttner dem Kundenteam Goh und der Konzernschwester Bentley bei ihren Le Mans-Siegen mit seinem Know-How zur Seite.

Jüttner ist die Liebe zum Motorsport in die Wiege gelegt worden. Sein Vater Fritz war, bevor er Renndienstleiter bei Bosch wurde, Werkspilot bei Borgward. Seinen Einsatzwagen rettete er aus dem Konkurs der Marke und vererbte ihn an seinen Sohn Ralf. Heute steht das Auto im Prototyp-Museum in Hamburg.

In seiner raren Freizeit mag es Ralf Jüttner ebenfalls schnell: Er fährt Motorrad und tritt gelegentlich bei Slotcar-Rennen an. Auch dabei hat er schon 24-Stunden-Rennen gewonnen.